South Dakota Becomes Latest State to Allow Permitless Carry

On January 31, 2019, the State of South Dakota became the latest state to affirm the Second Amendment with the signing of permitless carry bill SB47 into law, according to the Free Beacon. SB 47 repeals the regulations requiring a concealed carry permit in the State of South Dakota.

Governor Kristi Noem, South Dakota when she was a Congresswoman. US Congress photo.

It allows South Dakotans the right to choose whether or not to obtain a carry permit. It does not change the regulations for who is not allowed to have a firearm, such as convicted felons. If they are legally able to own a firearm, they will be legally able to carry it concealed.

take our poll - story continues below

Did SCOTUS make the right decision on medical mandates for large businesses?

  • Did SCOTUS make the right decision on medical mandates for large businesses?  

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Completing this poll grants you access to Conservative Firing Line updates free of charge. You may opt out at anytime. You also agree to this site's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

The bill passed the South Dakota House 47-23 and the Senate 23-11 with one abstention. The NRA celebrated the signing of the bill:

“On behalf of the NRA’s five-million members, we would like to thank Governor Noem for her leadership on this critical issue. This law is a common sense measure that allows law-abiding South Dakotans to exercise their fundamental right to self-protection in the manner that best suits their needs.” Chris W. Cox, executive director of the NRA-ILA

The only place where people will not be able to carry a concealed firearm will be the Statehouse in Pierre. Senators voted 22-10 against a bill that would have allowed concealed weapons holders to carry in state buildings, according to Fox. The bill was sponsored by Republican Stace Nelson, who said the Statehouse was “not secure.” It would have been more secure if people could carry there.

The bill was not without its detractors. Everytown for Gun Safety said the bill would have “disastrous effects”… but they always say that. It is forever amazing that their consistent fear mongering is ignored by any state that goes the direction of South Dakota.

Democrats and the South Dakota sheriffs organization stood against the bill, primarily because it allowed  nonresidents to carry without a permit. The new bill allowed non-residents to carry in South Dakota as well. The legislature is currently looking at a bill to restrict the carriers to South Dakota residents, according to The Hill.

The 14 states that have gone to permitless carry are: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire,  North Dakota, South Dakota, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming. Some of these states have a restriction for residents only.

H/T Uncle Sam’s Misguided Children


If you haven’t checked out and liked our Facebook page, please go here and do so.  You can also follow us on Twitter at @co_firing_line.  Please be sure to check out our MeWe page here and check us out at ProAmerica Only here.

If you appreciate independent conservative reports like this, please go here and support us on Patreon and get your conservative pro-Trump gear here.

And while you’re at it, be sure to check out our friends at Whatfinger News, the Internet’s conservative front-page founded by ex-military!


Faye Higbee

Faye Higbee is the columnist manager for Uncle Sam's Misguided Children. All of her posts on Conservative Firing Line are also posted on Uncle Sam's.

Related Articles

Our Privacy Policy has been updated to support the latest regulations.Click to learn more.×