Fifteen Republicans help advance Gang of Eight amnesty bill in ‘test vote’

montebello450x285On Monday, the so-called “Gang of Eight” amnesty bill received well over 60 votes in what was called a “test vote” on the Corker/Hoeven amendment.

The Senate voted to invoke cloture with an overwhelming 67 votes, including 15 Republicans.

Those Republicans are: Lamar Alexander, Kelly Ayotte, Jeffrey Chiesa, Susan Collins, Bob Corker, Jeff Flake, Lindsey Graham, Orrin Hatch, Dean Heller, John Hoeven, Mark Kirk, John McCain, Lisa Murkowski, Marco Rubio, and Roger Wicker.

Trending: Communist Action? NY Mayor De Blasio Pushes Seizure of Property of Bad Landlords

Six senators — Republicans Saxby Chambliss, Johnny Isakson, Mike Lee, and Mike Enzi, and Democrats Sherrod Brown and Mark Udall — did not vote, but it’s a sure bet that most of them would have.

Hot Air’s Allahpundit put it like this:

“I assume both Dems would have voted yes, and WaPo had both Chambliss and Isakson as ‘potential’ yeses. Figure at least one of them would have caved.”

So, I guess we can call this the first vote in the purposeful destruction of the United States.

When do we start recalling some of these clowns?


Be sure to check out our Headlines page to see what else our contributors are covering.



Join the conversation!

We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, vulgarity, profanity, all caps, or discourteous behavior. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain a courteous and useful public environment where we can engage in reasonable discourse.